Phone: (719) 633-5456
On Air
Categories Menu


‘1919★Eternal’ is the third album by Black Label Society. It was released on March 5, 2002 and was written for or dedicated to Zakk Wylde’s father, Jerome F. Wielandt, a World War II veteran who had participated in the events of D-Day at Omaha Beach as well as Normandy. He died recently before the release of the album. The album artwork is based on German Nazi propaganda posters that used to recruit Dutchmen into the Schutzstaffel (SS).

Five songs from the album sessions were written by Zakk Wylde for Ozzy Osbourne’s album ‘Down to Earth’. Ozzy rejected the songs because they were “too Black Label”, so Zakk kept them for this album. The songs were “Bleed for Me”, “Life, Birth, Blood, Doom”, “Demise of Sanity”, an alternate piano version of “Bridge to Cross”, and a demo presumably called “I’ll Find the Way”. The latter two were never released. These original demo songs featured drummer Christian Werr, a friend of Zakk’s who happened to be in the right place at the right time to record the tracks. Later, when Zakk went to re-record these demos for 1919 Eternal, Christian’s drum tracks were used for “Bleed for Me”, “Life, Birth, Blood, Doom”, and “Demise of Sanity”, which is why Craig Nunenmacher does not appear on these songs. This album also featured Robert Trujillo, best known for his role as the current bass player for Metallica. He was also a member of Suicidal Tendencies, their funk metal side-project supergroup, Infectious Grooves, and he has worked with Jerry Cantrell and been in Ozzy’s band.

“Demise of Sanity” is the third track on ‘1919★Eternal’

“Life, Birth, Blood, Doom” is the fourth track on ‘1919★Eternal’

“Battering Ram” is the sixth track on ‘1919★Eternal’

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien