Phone: (719) 633-5456
On Air
Categories Menu


“Back on Earth” is a previously unreleased studio track from The Ozzman Cometh compilation album by Ozzy Osbourne released in November 1997. It is his third greatest hits collection. It’s initial, limited edition 2-CD pressing contained five previously unreleased songs. Versions released in 2002 and later have only one disc, and the song “Shot in the Dark” is replaced by “Miracle Man”. This was due to a legal action brought about by the song’s co-writer, Phil Soussan, for unpaid royalties. The tracks “Black Sabbath”, “War Pigs”, “Fairies Wear Boots”, and “Behind the Wall of Sleep” on this compilation were recorded by Black Sabbath, during a session for the BBC Radio 1 Sunday show “The John Peel Sessions”, conducted by British DJ John Peel in April 1970. “Fairies Wear Boots” and “War Pigs” are early versions and have different lyrics.

The interview found on the second disc is from 1988, where Ozzy speaks about his latest album at the time (No Rest for the Wicked), and about his new guitarist Zakk Wylde and his past days in Black Sabbath. The compilation won a 1997 Metal Edge Readers’ Choice Award for Best Hits or Compilation Album.

“Walk on Water” is off of the Beavis and Butt-Head Do America: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack that came out in November 1996. This version that was produced by the DJ Moby is not the same one that was included in the film. The original demo, which appears in the film, can be found on Ozzy’s Prince of Darkness box set. Ozzy and co-writer Jim Vallance both prefer the demo version heard in the film over the one produced by Moby. Ozzy has stated in several interviews over the years that he hates the Moby version. “Walk on Water” was released as a single and peaked at number 28 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien